Nocturnal & Circular Images Op. 5

"Listening from this perspective can be daunting to the contemporary ear; the idea of complexity as synonymous with quality, the saturation of the sound landscape and productions that represent the so-called post-post-symphonic great culture deafen us ... why? The reason lies in our need for saturation, rational self-complacency in excess, in the spectacle where nudity is not enough, where open flesh and blood, even death, do not sate us. No, we will not find that in the music of Julián De La Chica. It is writ large across the works that make up this experience: the aggression of the minimum lies there"...

Julian De La Chica

Album Notes

Julián De La Chica considers himself to be an "‪experimenter‬”, not a "‪composer‬". However, he composes a micro-universe from naked atomic sound. The skin is a set of pores traversed by particles of world. The music of Mr. De La Chica explores the liminal atomic spaces between these pores and the world.

The Cycle Op. 5 shown in this ‪album‬ does not speak of the ‪‎Colombian‬ composer living in New York City; It is a ‪pilgrimage‬. The ‪‎piano‬ is the only trace of this journey of identity which is, in short, ‪destruction‬. The inner sound, is the deepest for those who create from the musical abyss. Sound culture around us weaves nets like mermaid songs and Penelope mantles ... he who seeks his sound needs to choose and home is not always Ithaca.

Julián De La Chica, as Samuel Beckett, knows that companionship is being "alone" and, as in the nighttime images of William Blake, speaks of the unfathomable path with the smallest gesture of a human hand. In his Cycle op. 5, Mr. De La Chica opens the "metaphysical box" called piano, which imagined ‪Oteiza‬, like a beloved body, sole ‪companion‬, minimum.

Susan Campos - Fonseca, PhD
Musicologist & Composer



Nocturnal & Circular Images Op. 5

01. Illumination
02. The Return
03. Sacro-sanct
04. Fado
05. Prelude
06. Retro-spective
07. Intro-spective
08. Purification
09. Transition
10. Etude